Homepage             |         Sitemap             |         Disclaimer             |         Contact

"Leonardo da Vinci" Award of the European Academy of Sciences

James D. Murray

by Prof. Vincenzo Capasso

In recognition of his long lasting contribution to establish a bridge between mathematics and life sciences. His contributions to mathematical biology have been profound, in particular in the development of a coherent mathematical theory of morphogenesis. During the 1980s, he founded the Centre for Mathematical Biology at the University of Oxford; it was the first centre for mathematical biology in the UK. In addition of being a great scientist; his dedication to teaching has made him capable of attracting scholars from all over the world. Nowadays his students (in a wide sense) are spread in many prestigious universities, from Europe to US, to Japan etc. He has greatly contributed to founding the European Society for Mathematical and Theoretical Biology and was elected as its first President. He holds a large number of honours, a selection of which are: Guggenheim Fellow 1968; Fellow of the Royal Society (Edinburgh) 1979; Fellow of the Royal Society (London) 1985; Fellow of the Institute of Biology (Great Britain) 1988; Foreign Member of the Academy of Sciences (France) 2000; London Mathematical Society Naylor Prize for Applied Mathematics 1989. Akira Okubo Prize 2005, University of Washington donor endowed chair in perpetuity: Honorary Member, Edinburgh Mathematical Society 2008 (Celebrating its 125th Anniversary); Royal Society Bakerian Medal and Prize Lecture (Physical Sciences premier prize lecture) 2009; Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) 2009 Gold Medal; Honorary D.Sc. degrees by University of St. Andrews 1994, and University of Strathclyde (Scotland) 1999; Laurea Honoris causa in Math 2004 University of Milan, Dr. Math. Honoris causa 2006 University of Waterloo, D.Sc Honoris causa 2011 University of Dundee; Honorary Fellow, Corpus Christi College, University of Oxford 2001.