Homepage             |         Sitemap             |         Disclaimer             |         Contact


Blaise Pascal Medal in Computational Science

Boris Verkhovsky, USA

Professor Verkhovsky is a Professor of Computational Science at the New Jersey Institute of Technology. From his prior affiliations at the Academy of Sciences of the USSR, Princeton University, IBM TJW Research Center, Bell Laboratories and now at the NJIT, he acquired vast research experience. Among his discoveries are algorithms for multi-index problems of linear programming, optimal search algorithms for extrema of multi-modal functions, constrained shortest-path algorithm, optimal control of large-scale systems under uncertainty, delinearization algorithms for various numerical problems, average complexity of divide-and-conquer algorithms etc. He is a recipient of numerous awards including the USSR Ministry of Radio-Electronics Award; the Academy of Sciences of the USSR Award; Alvin Johnson Award; Millennium Award and Medal of Excellence. Verkhovsky was Wallace Eckert Scientist at the IBM Research, Associate Professor at Princeton, Member of Technical Staff at Bell Labs and held Charles Dana Endowed Chair Professorship.

Blaise Pascal Medal in Earth Sciences

Enders Robinson, USA

Professor Robinson is known as “father of digital geophysics.” He is Professor Emeritus of the Columbia University, USA. In 1969, Dr. Robinson received the Medal Award of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists in recognition of outstanding contributions to the digital processing of seismic data and the Conrad Schlumberger Award of the European Association of Exploration Geophysicists for a rationalization and formalization of the geophysicist's approach to data enhancement. In 1983, he was made an honorary member of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists, and in 1984 he received the Donald G. Fink Prize Award of the IEEE. He is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and the Eurasc.

Blaise Pascal Medal in Physics and Chemistry

Enzo Tiezzi, Italy

Born in Siena in 1938, he teaches Physics Chemistry in Siena University. The author of seminal publications in the fields of magnetic resonance and physics chemistry. Professor Tiezzi is a recipient of numerous national and international awards. Prof. Tiezzi belongs to a group of scientists who, led by his mentor and Nobel Prize winner, Prof. Prigogine, who are trying to bring about a new balance in our civilisation. The underlying essential message is that we cannot continue with the cultural dichotomy that started with Galileo's work and we need to bring together the interests of man and nature. The aim of modern science should be to live in harmony and to stop using and developing technologies which run contrary to nature. Dr. Tiezzi is a member of the Eurasc.

Blaise Pascal Medal in Biomedical Sciences

Jan Balzarini, Belgium & Eric De Clercq, Belgium

Prof. J. Balzarini

Prof. Balzarini and Prof. De Clercq from Leuven University, Belgium made important contributions in biomedical sciences.
Their current work on novel Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) inhibitors is considered one of the most important contributions in antiviral research.

Prof. Balzarini and Prof. de Clercq’s work also includes studies of the RNA genome of the lentivirus human immunodeficiency virus type 1 (HIV-1) that is significantly richer in adenine nucleotides than the statistically equal distribution of the four different nucleotides that is expected. This compositional bias may be due to the guanine-to-adenine (G A) nucleotide hypermutation of the HIV genome, which has been explained by dCTP pool imbalances during reverse transcription. The adenine nucleotide bias together with the poor fidelity of HIV-1 reverse transcriptase markedly enhances the genetic variation of HIV and may be responsible for the rapid emergence of drug-resistant HIV-1 strains. The researchers have attempted to counteract the normal mutational pattern of HIV-1 in response to anti-HIV-1 drugs by altering the endogenous deoxynucleoside triphosphate pool ratios with antimetabolites in virus-infected cell cultures. They showed that administration of these antimetabolic compounds resulted in an altered drug resistance pattern due to the reversal of the predominant mutational flow of HIV (G A) to an adenine-to-guanine (A G) nucleotide pattern in the intact HIV-1-infected lymphocyte cultures. Forcing the virus to change its inherent nucleotide bias may lead to better control of viral drug resistance development. Both Dr. Balzarini and Dr. De Clercq have numerous awards and citations. They are members of the Eurasc.
Prof. De Clercq is awarded the medal and the certificate