Homepage             |         Sitemap             |         Disclaimer             |         Contact


Blaise Pascal Medal in Mathematics and  Computational Science

Edmund Hlawka, Austria

Edmund Hlawka is a leading number theorist whose work has had a lasting influence on modern number theory and other branches of mathematics. He has contributed to diophantine approximation, the geometry of numbers, uniform distributions, analytic number theory, discrete geometry, convexity, numerical integration, inequalities, differential equations and gas dynamics. Of particular importance are his results in the geometry of numbers (especially the Minkowski-Hlawka theorem) and uniform distribution.  He is a Member of Eurasc.

Blaise Pascal Medal in Earth Sciences

Khalid Aziz, USA

Prof. Aziz made seminal contributions to multiphase and single phase flow of oil, gas and their mixtures in pipes for the design of innovative oil and gas transportation and production systems, development and use of computer reservoir simulators for predicting performance of petroleum reservoirs,  techniques for predicting productivity and injectivity of horizontal and other non-conventional wells, natural gas engineering and hydrocarbon fluid phase behaviour, etc. Currently, he is  Otto N. Miller Professor of Earth Sciences, Stanford University, USA. He is a Member of Eurasc.

Blaise Pascal Medal in Physics and Chemistry

Isaak  M. Khalatnikov, Russia

The investigations carried out by I.M. Khalatnikov in the field of cosmology and relativistic astrophysics are particularly noteworthy. The work on many years on the problem of singularity in the general relativity theory has brought about the discovery of a new type of oscillatory behaviour of relativistic cosmological models in the vicinity of the time singularity. This type of singularity has proved to be of a most general character and has promonted construction of the general cosmological solution of the Einstein equations with the time singularity. These results have been confirmed by the works of S. Hawkin and R. Penrose. This series of works also involves development of original qualitative methods of investigating the evolution of the Universe with dissipative processed taken into account and also the exact solution of the problem of stochastic properties of the evolution of homogeneous models of the Universe (chaos in cosmology). Dr. Khalatnikov is Director of the the Landau Institute for Theoretical Physics. He is a Member of Eurasc.

Blaise Pascal Medal in Biomedical Sciences

Anthony S. Fauci, USA

Dr. Fauci has made seminal contributions to the understanding of how the AIDS virus destroys the body's defenses leading to its susceptibility to deadly infections. He also has delineated the mechanisms of induction of HIV expression by endogenous cytokines. Furthermore, he has been instrumental in developing strategies for the therapy and immune reconstitution of patients with this serious disease, as well as for a vaccine to prevent HIV infection.  Dr. Fauci is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and is Director of the National Institute for Allergy and Infectious Diseases.  He serves on the editorial boards of many scientific journals; as an editor of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine; and as author, coauthor, or editor of more than 1,000 scientific publications, including several textbooks. He is a Member of Eurasc

Blaise Pascal Medal in Engineering

Marie-Paule Pileni, France

Dr. Pileni is Professor of the University of P&M Curie, Paris, France. She made numerous fundamental contributions to nanotechnologies. Her  group  pioneered in the fabrication of nanocrystals in colloidal solutions that may have many fundamental  industrial applications. In addition, she was the French citation laureate, the Institute of Scientific Information Award for most quoted French scientist between 1981 and 1998. She is a member of the European Academy of Science, the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences, Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry and has a doctorate honoris causa from Chalmers University, Göteborg, Sweden. She is a officier « dans l'Ordre National de la Légion d'Honneur » and « dans l'Ordre National du Mérite ».

Blaise Pascal Medal in Natural Sciences

Peter W H Holland, UK

Peter Holland is the Linacre Professor of Zoology, Associate Head of Oxford’s Department of Zoology, a Fellow of Merton College, and Head of theDevelopment Research Group. He took up this post in October 2002, following eight years as Professor of Zoology in the School of Animal and Microbial Sciences at the University of Reading. Previously, he was a Royal Society University Research Fellow, the Browne Research Fellow and a Demonstrator in Zoology at Oxford. His research interests include evolutionary developmental biology, genome evolution, homeobox genes, and molecular phylogeny. Peter Holland was awarded the first Genetics Society Medal in 2004, the De Snoo van 't Hoogerhuys Medal in 1999 and the Scientific Medal of the Zoological Society of London in 1996. He was elected to Fellowship of the Royal Society in 2003. He is a Governor of the Marine Biological Association, member of the NHGRI Working Group on Comparative Genomics, member of the scientific advisory panel for the Kristineberg Marine Research Station, specialist advisor on homeobox genes for the Human Gene Nomenclature Committee, and member of the editorial board for seven journals (Proc. Roy. Soc. B; Evol. & Devel.; Mol. Devel. Evol.;BioEssays;BMC Evol. Biol.; Faculty of 1000; Devel. Genes & Evol.). He is a Member of Eurasc.