European Academy of Sciences

Death of Vladimir Arnold

He had been awarded the Lenin Prize (1965, with Andrey Kolmogorov), the Crafoord Prize (1982, with Louis Nirenberg), the Harvey prize (1994), Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics (2001), the Wolf Prize in Mathematics (2001) and the State Prize of the Russian Federation (2007).[7] He was awarded the Shaw Prize in mathematical sciences in 2008.

Astronomy: The minor planet 10031 Vladarnolda was named after him in 1981 by Lyudmila Georgievna Karachkina.

He "was one of the most eminent contemporary mathematicians from all points of view", said the Russian Academy of Sciences vice-president Valeri Kozlov, cited by the Itar-Tass agency. 

"His work contained many things indispensable to the other sciences", including physics, chemistry and biology. 

In 1974 the Soviet Union opposed Professor Arnold's award of the Fields Medal, the foremost recognition in work in mathematics that is often compared to the Nobel Prize, making him one of the most prominent mathematicians to never receive the prize. 

The European Academy of Sciences lost a very appreciated member. Each photo links to articles found on the web about his biography bibliography and work.